election 2009, election commission of india, election, ndnc, election commision. The elections will be held in five phases on April 16, 23, 30, May 7 and 13, they said, adding that the new government will take office on June 2. Chief Election Commissioner N.Gopalasawmai in a press conference at Delhi said today that “Election in Jammu and Kashmir and Uttar Pradesh will be held in five phases, Bihar in four phases, Maharashtra and West Bengal in three phases, Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Orissa, Punjab in two phases. Elections in rest of the 15 states and Union Territories will be held in one phase.”
Five phased polls will be held in Jammu and Kashmir and Uttar Pradesh, while Bihar will have a four-phased election.

Maharashtra and West Bengal will witness three phased polls while Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Orissa and Punjab will have elections in two phases.

The remaining 15 states and seven Union Territories will have one-day polling.

The first phase of polling will take place on April 16 in 124 constituencies. The second phase of polling will be held on April 23 in 141 constituencies. In this phase, one constituency in Manipur will go to poll on April 22 due to a local holiday.

The third and fourth phase of polling will take place on April 30 and May 7 in 107 and 85 respectively.

The fifth and final phase of polling will be held on May 13 in 86 constituencies.ounting of votes will take place on May 16.
Loksabha elections 2009 will be held on a single day 30th April in Gujarat.
The term of the 14th Lok Sabha ends on June 1, 2009, therefore the new Lok Sabha will have to be constituted by then.
election commission of india, election commission, mpinfo, update eci= http://www.eci.gov.in/